Trusted Jacksonville Car Accident Attorney
Car accidents can be life-changing. If you are injured in a car accident, your medical bills may be piling up, your car may not be drivable, and you may be unable to return to work. You will also be dealing with an insurance adjuster who will try to settle your claim as quickly for as little as possible. Make sure you retain an experienced Jacksonville car accident attorney to help you get the compensation you are entitled to.
Compensation in Car Accident Cases Can Include:
- Medical Costs – you may be able to recover both the current and projected future expenses for medical treatment due to injuries caused by the accident.
- Property Damage – you may be entitled to monetaty damages for the market value of your vehicle if totaled, or the cost of repairs.
- Pain and Suffering – this includes not only the physical pain that may be experienced, but the mental anguish that can occur as well.
- Lost Wages – this is money lost due to missed work from the date of the accident to the date of the demand or jury trial.
- Loss of Earning Capacity – this is different than lost wages. These damages can be awarded if your ability to earn income in the future has been diminished.
- Loss of Enjoyment of Life – if you are unable to do the activities you once enjoyed, you may be entitled to compensation.
What To Do After a Car Accident:
- Call the Police – First, contact the appropriate authorities as required under Florida law.
- Take Photos and Videos – take photographs and video of all vehicles involved and the scene of the accident. If there is a dispute over who is at fault, experienced attorneys often work with experts who can reconstruct an accident from photographs, which can be crucial in proving your case.
- Gather Information – Make sure to exchange insurance information with any other driver involved in the accident, and get the names and phone numbers of witnesses, if possible.
- Seek Medical Attention – If injured, it is critical that you receive medical attention immediately. Florida law requires all drivers to have personal injury protection insurance, otherwise known as “PIP”. In order to receive PIP insurance coverage, accident victims must get “initial services and care” from a qualified health care provider within 14 days of a crash. Examples of qualified health care providers may include hospitals, independent medical doctors, or chiropractors. While you may feel fine initially, this may be because of the adrenaline rush often experienced after a crash. Other times, even serious injuries can take days to present. Make sure to seek medical care within 14 days of the crash or you may forfeit your PIP benefits.
- Notify Your Insurer – Let your insurance company know you were in an accident. However, do not speak to the other driver’s insurance company.
- Contact a Car Accident Lawyer – Finally, make sure to contact an experienced car accident attorney who can advise you how to best proceed.
What is the Statute of Limitations for a Car Crash in Florida?
Generally, the statute of limitations to file a lawsuit in Florida for injuries resulting from a car crash is four years. This means you must file a lawsuit within four years of the date of the accident. However, the amount of time may be shorter if a governmental entity is involved.